History

History

Colonial Hotel charming exterior
chess set
Hotel Colonial Heritage historic student image
historic image of students initials carved into an architrave

Learn the history of our heritage hotel Launceston

Quality Hotel Colonial is a modern and well-appointed accommodation and function centre. Now a family-owned heritage hotel in the centre of Launceston, we’re dedicated to offering a truly unique experience for all our guests. We’re proud of our stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage.

From a Victorian school to a heritage hotel 

Our heritage hotel still retains much of the character and charm of the once Victorian school. Wherever possible, original fixtures have been incorporated, such as schoolboys' initials carved in architraves, which date back to 1853. Convict-pressed bricks have been left in place on the stair landing, and milestone posts from the old highway between Hobart Town and Launceston feature in the picturesque, award-winning front gardens. 

Grammar in its first year had 29 scholars who wore "bum freezers" and wide Eton collars as they toiled at their lessons with quill and ink, six and a half hours per day, four days a week. Homework lasted an hour every weekday evening, and Wednesday and Saturday afternoons were free to play sport on the school grounds. Cricket came first, then after the 1860s, school football.

The Big School Room where pupils once gathered for assembly, now houses the elegant and stylish QC Brasserie while the former school gymnasium has been converted to the Three Steps on George Bar & Restaurant.

Restoration and construction began in 1972 to transform the old school into what it is now – Quality Hotel Colonial.

If you’d like to book a break away at our charming heritage hotel, give us a call on 03 6331 6588 today.

Share by: